Leave it on the Field

Etsy find

Etsy find

 

I ran across this cute mug on Etsy (I’m a sucker for typography) by designer NoondaybyTracey . It reminded me of this cool chick, Mo’ne Davis.

(Brian Garfinkel)

(Brian Garfinkel)

This girl is doing it! Or this girl is on fire (as Alicia Keys says it).

If you haven’t heard of her already, Mo’ne Davis is the first girl to win a Little League World Series game. Last year she lead her team, the Taney Dragons, to a 4-0 win over Nashville, Tennessee. Her 70mph pitch made history as it shut the game down. This 13 year old girl is a successful shoe designer, an author, was named 2014 Sports Kid of The Year by Sports Illustrated, and now the subject of Disney Channel biopic, Throw Like Mo.

On the horizon of this years Black Girls Rock award show, I think it is necessary to give Miss Mo’ne her props. Just last year she worked with Spike Lee to make the Cheverolet-produces Throw Like a Girl short. Check out this post to learn about more girls making a difference.

She recently caught some unnecessary Twitter trolling. Bloomsburg University first baseman Joel Casselbury sent out a tweet disapproving Mo’ne’s recent Disney offer.

Mone-tweet

“Slut”. Really? Call me a feminist but it’s never okay to call a thirteen year old a slut. Needless to say Casselbury was removed from the team. His life is obviously centered around baseball but I have no sympathy for his circumstances. He should have left the trash talking on the field. When will people understand that whatever you put on the internet you are showing the world?

Before deleting his Twitter account, Casselbury was reported saying, “An example that one stupid tweet can ruin someone’s life and I couldn’t be more sorry about my actions last night”  He goes on to say, “I please ask you to forgive me and truly understand that I am in no way shape or form a sexist and I am a huge fan of Mo’ne. She was quite an inspiration.”

Don’t you just love scripted apologies? The go-to apology is always ‘I’m in no shape or form a sexist’… they just say sexist things. “I’m not a sexist. I just tell sexist jokes”; “I’m not sexist but, men are superior.”

Seriously I can go on forever about this. The point is, we as women face so many obstacles, even more being black women, but we can’t let that stop us from being great. Mo’ne forgave him with such grace as if his petty comment didn’t even phase her. I applaud her for that and her many accomplishments.

Much Love xo

Leave a Reply

